On December 13, 2010, New York Gov. David Paterson signed the Wage Theft Prevention Act (the "Act") enhancing the notification obligations on New York employers. This amendment to the New York Labor Law also increases the penalties associated with violations and expands the scope of retaliation claims. The Act becomes effective April 12, 2011.
New Notice and Pay Statement Obligations and Penalties
In 2009, the New York Labor Law was amended to require employers to provide new hires with written notice of the employees' pay rate(s); overtime pay rate(s), if applicable; and regular payday. Now there is more.
Notice of Wages
All New York employers must notify each employee, in writing, at the time of hire and annually (on or before February 1) of (1) the employee's rate of pay and the basis of such pay (e.g., hourly, weekly, salary, commission); (2) the overtime rate, if applicable; (3) any allowances claimed as part of the minimum wage; (4) the regular payday; (5) the name of the employer and any "doing business as" names; and (6) the address of the employer's main office or principal place of business and a phone number. This notice must be in English and the primary language of the employee. The employee must provide a signed and dated written acknowledgment of receipt of such annual notice, and the employer must retain that for six years. To the extent information in the notice changes, employers must advise employees seven days prior to the change unless the change is documented on the employee's wage statement.
In addition, with each paycheck, all New York employers must provide each employee with a wage statement that includes, among other things, the dates of work covered by the check, rate and basis of pay, gross and net wages and deductions, any allowances, and the regular hourly and overtime rate for nonexempt employees. Employers must maintain these payroll records for six years.
Under the Act, both employees and the Commissioner of Labor (the "Commissioner") can bring an action to recover specific damages plus attorneys' fees and costs against an employer who fails to provide the notice of wages or wage statement. Specifically, an employee who is not provided with a notice of wages within 10 business days of his or her first date of employment may seek $50 for each workweek he or she does not receive such notice, up to $2,500. An employee who is not provided with a wage statement may seek $100 for each workweek of such violation, up to $2,500. Notably, the Act empowers the Commissioner to recover these civil penalties without any cap.
Heightened Penalties and Powers of the Commissioner
In addition to the penalties it provides for noncompliance with the notice and wage statement requirements, the Act increases the penalties associated with other violations of the New York Labor Law and grants the Commissioner additional enforcement power. Some highlights of the Act follow:
Expanded Retaliation Claims
Employers also must beware of the newly expanded retaliation provisions under the Act that will protect not only those employees who complain about wage violations but employees who the employer believes have complained. Such complaint need not be to the employer or the Commissioner but may now be to the Attorney General or "any other person." In addition to the existing forms of retaliation, employers are now explicitly prohibited from threatening an employee who complains. The Act makes it clear that an employee need not refer to a specific provision of the law when complaining.
Repercussions for Employers
New York employers need to understand these upcoming changes and take steps to ensure that their policies and practices comply with the expanded New York Labor Law. Specifically, employers must draft compliant wage notices and statements or revise their existing documents to comply with the Act. Employers should also ensure that their human resources personnel and management employees understand the prohibition on retaliation related to employees who complain about their wages.
Michael K. Furey authored article, "Is It Worth the Risk to Represent a Client Who Has Fired a Previous Attorney?," for the New Jersey Law Journal.
On February 26, Heather Weine Brochin will be speaking at "Weathering NJ's New Employment and Contracting Laws," a seminar presented by the New Jersey Builders Association (NJBA) and held in Robbinsville, NJ.
On January 7, Francine Esposito presented a live webinar, "FMLA Leave Is Exhausted: How to Address Transfer and ADA Accommodation Requests, Fitness-for-Duty Exams, and More," sponsored by BLR.
Mark Romance authored an article, "Five Tips for Representing a Non-Party Served with a Document Subpoena: Welcome to the Party?," published by the American Bar Association Section of Litigation.
On October 24, Heather Weine Brochin and Mike Dell will present a webcast, titled "2019: A Year of Dramatic Changes for Mandatory Employment Arbitration?" in partnership with Celesq and West LegalEdcenter/Thomson Reuters.
The Connecticut Law Tribune interviewed top attorneys, including Day Pitney Partner and Executive Board Member Glenn Dowd, about Big Law continuing to come up with new safety protocols and procedures in how to safely deal with opening its offices.
Day Pitney Press Release
Day Pitney Managing Partner Thomas Goldberg was quoted in Hartford Business Journal article, "Hartford law firms see spike in COVID-19-related business."
Daniel Schwartz was quoted in Hunt Scanlon Media article, "Defending Against the Cancel Culture from the Inside Out."
Day Pitney Press Release